The annual Mid West Sports Star of the Year awards have become the gala night on the Mid West sporting scene. The awards are the longest running regional sports awards in WA, commencing in 1972 to celebrate just one award, the Senior Sports Star of the Year. Since this time the awards have grown to recognise ten other worthwhile categories.

The Mid West Region boasts some of the most amazing sporting talent both on and off the field. Our impressive list of high profile athletes is well documented and our off field stars are also first class. The annual awards evening brings together these people to recognise their achievements and commitment to sport and recreation throughout the region. The fact that the majority of the people recognised are 100% voluntary makes this occasion even more special and equally important.

The Mid West Sports Star of the Year Awards recognises the achievements of the people that make up the sport and recreation industry in twelve very important categories:

  • Senior Sports Star of the Year
  • Junior Sports Star of the Year
  • Team of the Year
  • Coach of the Year
  • Official of the Year
  • Administrator of the Year
  • Sport Personality of the Year
  • ATLAS Inclusion Award
  • MWAS Athlete of the Year
  • Local Achiever
  • Mid West Hall of Fame
  • Club of the Year

Hall of Fame

  • 1998 - Karen Perham (nee Jupp) - Badminton
  • 1999 - Chris Mainwaring - Football
  • 2001 - Ryan Green - Water Skiing
  • 2003 - Salli Wills - Gymnastics
  • 2004- Dennis Marsden - Rifle Shooting
  • 2006 - Darren Patten - Tennis
  • 2009 - Murray Wrensted - Football
  • 2013 - Ben Pepper - Basketball
  • 2014 - Lee Poletti - Lawn Bowls
  • 2017 - Anthony Little - Boxing